WSWC: the 2019 Winners

WSWC: The 2019 Winners


The Web Series World Cup has come to a close for another year, with the conclusion of Rio, the final festival on the circuit.

Who won?


Bragging Rights

The final top 10 looks like this:

  1. M, Argentina, 307 points
  2. Dreaming Whilst Black, UK, 290
  3. Otsoen Lurraldean, Spain, 264
  4. Vieux Jeu, Canada, 227
  5. Anomalie, Germany, 195

As always, some titles made their festival bows in 2018, so weren’t eligible for selection by all 2019 festivals.

  1. Detention Adventure, Canada, 191
  2. The League of S.T.E.A.M., USA, 185
  3. Abracadavers, Canada, 149
  4. Bip, Switzerland, 128
  5. Public Writer, Canada, 125

Congrats to Argentina’s Javi Devitt for taking out the win with thriller M (top image).

Across the other categories, the best-placed shows were:
Web Doc: Bastards (#47)
Kids show: Detention Adventure (#6)
Animation: Liga da Mata (#11)
Pilot: Vol 69 / Flight 69 (#14)
Community Show (made by a web fest team): Otsoen Lurraldean (#3)

Canadian shows, which have been on a roll all year, ended up with seven of the top 20 spots.

All of the category winners except Bastards were selected for #NZWF19. Detention Adventure won our international Best Kids show award.


Of the NZ shows on the table, The Watercooler placed highest (#22). In descending order, Alibi, AFK, Sui Generis, Life in the Dead Zone, Touch Wood, Jessica’s Tree all placed in the top 100.

All the NZ shows were selections at either #NZWF18 or ’19.


Next stops

Several Web Series World Cup are now accepting submissions for their 2020 editions. The first WSWC fests in the 2020 competition to run will be Buenos Aires Series (fka BA Web Fest) in early March, followed by Bogota Web Fest and DC Web Fest in early April.



Rules of the Game

For those who don’t know, the Web Series World Cup works a little like the IRB Sevens tournament.

The cup runs each calendar year. Shows pick up points at participating festivals for each selection, award nomination, and award win. The running total is updated every few weeks. Organisers announce the winner either following the final festival of the year, or earlier if a show takes an unassailable lead.

This year, organisers will name three winners: for web series, webdoc, and pilot.


Published on 26 November 2019